Allen Achieves First Team Nod, Three Others Collect All-WAC Honors

USAFA, Colo. - Putting a bow on one of the greatest in-season turnarounds in program history, San José State's Max Allen, Rodolfo Castro, David Sweeney and Carlos Gomez-Zavala have each received All-WAC honors. 

The awards were announced by the league on Tuesday evening. Both the all-conference teams and superlatives were selected by a survey of the league's 12 head coaches. 

Allen, a midfielder from Liverpool, England, controlled the center of the pitch all season long for the Spartans and received first-team honors. He started each of the 17 games he appeared in, racking up 1465 minutes of play by the end of the regular season. The junior also posed a threat to opposing defenses, tallying three assists and 27 shots (12 on frame). 

Castro is SJSU's representative on the all-conference's second-team, finishing conference play ranked second in the WAC with eight goals. The team's most consistent scoring threat all season, Castro ended league play ranked third in points with a total of 18. 

San José State's late season surge wouldn't have been possible without the play of goalkeeper David Sweeney. Sweeney finished WAC play ranked third in saves (53), save percentage (.779) and shutouts (4) and is the lone keeper named to the all-freshman team. 

The addition to the all-freshman team is the program's first since the 2017 campaign, when current Spartans Allen and Omar Lemus made the list. 

Rounding out the team's quartet of honorees is midfielder Carlos Gomez-Zavala. The only Spartan to start each of his side's 18 matches, Gomez-Zavala played a team-high 1506 minutes on the regular season. In addition to dominating on ball, the Palo Alto product tallied four points on one goal and two assists. 

Led by head coach Simon Tobin, SJSU finished WAC play with a record of 5-4-2 while earning victories against three of the conference's top four teams. 

The club now sets its sights on postseason play as the back-to-back conference finalists return to the WAC Tournament for a third straight season. San José State will kickoff its postseason run on Wednesday, meeting CSU Bakersfield in the quarterfinals at 12:00 p.m. (MT). 

2019 First Team All-WAC F: Kyle Edwards, UT Rio Grande Valley F: Blake Frischknecht, Utah Valley F: Declan McGlynn, Seattle U MF: Max Allen, San Jose State MF: Julian Avila-Good, Seattle U MF: Timo Mehlich, UNLV MF: Tristan Trager, Air Force D: Nkosi Burgess, Seattle U D: Ahmed Longmire, Utah Valley D: Guillermo Martinez, UT Rio Grande Valley GK: Detre Bell, CSU Bakersfield

2019 Second Team All-WAC F: William Akio, UT Rio Grande Valley F: Rudy Castro, San Jose State F: Ryan Goldsmith, CSU Bakersfield F: Ryan Khedoo, Kansas City MF: Arthur Rogers, UT Rio Grande Valley MF: Alec Felix, Utah Valley MF: Noe Meza, Seattle U D: Mark Brown, Utah Valley D: Al Acton-Petronotis, Seattle U D: Austin Day, Grand Canyon GK: Andrew Rios, UT Rio Grande Valley

2019 All-WAC Freshman Team London Aghedo, Air Force Aiden Cavanaugh, Kansas City Harry Downing, CSU Bakersfield Luke Hill, Air Force Kevin Komodi, Kansas City Quinn Matulis, Air Force James Morris, Seattle U Lukas Moser, UT Rio Grande Valley Jesse Ortiz, Seattle U David Sweeney, San Jose State Mikey Vogel, CSU Bakersfield

Honorable Mention All-WAC Air Force: London Aghedo, Nick Blessing, Jared Dove, Kainoa Likewise, Lathan Spadafora California Baptist: Albert Escuin, Brian Gonzalez, Linus Mansson, Sebastian Wiesbock CSU Bakersfield: Carlos Armendariz, Kendall Burks, Niklas Korber, Niall Owens Grand Canyon: Ariel Aguas, Nick Barreiro, Esai Easley, Justin Rasmussen, George Tasouris, Bert Wilton Houston Baptist: Dominick Faletto, Thomas Menke, Gianluca Natera, Daan Snellink UIW: Carlos Mercado, Koen Vos Kansas City: Giacomo Caruso, Filippo Errico, Kevin Komodi, David Ray-Campoy UNLV: Billy Jones San Jose State: Carlos Gomez-Zavala Seattle U: Akili Kasim, Thomas Mickoski, James Morris, Hal Udertiz, Kees Westra UT Rio Grande Valley: Angel Lopez, Elyad Shojaei Utah Valley: Aaron Caprio, Zach Maas