Javascript is required.

Josh Oglesby Nominated for Broyles Award

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. - San José State offensive line coach and run game coordinator Josh Oglesby has been nominated for the 2023 Broyles Award, which honors college football’s top assistant coaches announced by the organization on Tuesday.

The 57 nominees in this year’s class were selected from approximately 1,500 assistant coaches representing 131 FBS programs across the country.

Oglesby has helped coach the Spartans over a four game win streak by having four games of over 200 plus yards rushing for the first time since 2000 and five 200 plus yard rushing games overall this season which is also the first time that has happened since 2000.

The Spartans ran for 313 yards against No. 25 Fresno St. last Saturday which were the most for the Spartans against an FBS opponent since Oct. 24, 2015 when they rushed for 317 yards against New Mexico.

SJSU also rushed for 259 yards at New Mexico (10/14) and 251 yards against Utah State (10/21) and it's the first time since 2006 the Spartans had back-to-back 250 plus rushing yard games. The Spartans have only failed to hit 100 rushing yards in two games this season.

Senior running back Kairee Robinson is averaging 7.07 yards per carry this season which is tops in the Mountain West and sixth in the country. Robinson also has a rushing touchdown in every game he's played in this season (nine, second longest streak in the country).

The offensive line is also doing a great job protecting senior quarterback Chevan Cordeiro who has thrown 16 touchdowns this season including three against No. 25 Fresno State last weekend.

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing
great assistants during his hall of fame career as head coach at Arkansas.

UP NEXT: The Spartans play their final home game of the season on Nov. 18th when they host San Diego State at 7:30 p.m. The game can be watched on the CBS Sports Network and listened to live on KTRB.

Click here to build your One Spartan Nation membership.