Spartans Headed To Cle Elum For Regional Play

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.—For the 28th time in school history, the No. 25 San José State women’s golf team will play at an NCAA Regional. This year, the Spartans are the No. 5 seed at the Cle Elum Regional to be played at the Tumble Creek Club in Cle Elum, Wash., May 6-8. 

The Spartans played at the Tumble Creek Club for the 2019 regional when the team advanced to the NCAA Championships in Arkansas. The team finished fifth that year at 8-over 872. In 2014, former Spartan Regan De Guzman competed as an individual at the regional and finished 75th. 

The six regions feature 12 teams and six individuals competing. The top-five teams and top individual, not on an advancing team, in each region will advance to the NCAA Championships, May 17-22, at the Omni La Costa Resort & Spa in Carlsbad, Calif.

The other five regionals will be played in Auburn, Ala. (Auburn University Club), Bermuda Run, N.C. (Bermuda Run Country Club), Bryan, Texas (Traditions Club), East Lansing, Mich. (Fort Akers Golf Course) and Las Vegas, Nev. (Spanish Trail Country Club).

The Spartans have won three national championships – 1987, 1989 and 1992. The program has played at the championships five times in the past 14 years – 2010 (Wilmington, N.C.), 2013 (Athens, Ga.), 2019 (Fayetteville, Ark.) and 2022 and 2023 (Scottsdale, Ariz.). 

Cle Elum Regional Site

The Cle Elum Regional will be played at Tumble Creek Club in Cle Elum, Washington and will be hosted by University of Washington.

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1.     Stanford (Pac-12 Conference)

2.     Duke

3.     Arizona State

4.     Virginia

5.     San Jose State (Mountain West Conference)

6.     Washington

7.     Alabama

8.     Virginia Tech

9.     Kansas

10. Long Beach State (Big West Conference)

11. Sacramento State (Big Sky Conference)

12. Seattle University (Western Athletic Conference)

Individuals (seeded in the following order):

1.     Emma Bunch, New Mexico State (Conference USA)

2.     Riana Mission, San Francisco

3.     Kelli Ann Strand, Nebraska

4.     Morgan Miller, Colorado

5.     Sabrina Iqbal, Colorado

6.     Madelyn Gamble, Washington State