15 Spartans Earn National Academic Honors

SAN JOSE, Calif - Fifteen San Josè State men's water polo players from the 2022 season were honored as national All-Academic award winners by the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC). To qualify, student-athletes need a 3.2 or higher on a 4.00 scale. 

Since the program was reinstated beginning with the 2015 season, 41 Spartans have earned 68 ACWPC All-Academic honors.

Niels Hofmeijer earned his fourth ACWPC All-Academic award. Utku Karhan is now a three-time award recipient. Connor Macmillan and Mark Kis received their second All-Academic honors. Martin Melkuhn, Itay Nemet, Marko Radanovich, Erik Duesund, Bryce Heber, Bende Pardi, Bence Szabo, Laszlo Szieben, Kai Young, Nikki Matheisen, and Nikola Nikolic round out the San Jose State list of award recipients.

Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches 2022 Men's All-Academic Awards
Outstanding 4.0-3.71
Niels Hofmeijer 
Mark Kis 
Connor Macmillan 
Martin Melkuhn
Itay Nemet 
Marko Radanovich 

Superior 3.70-3.41
Erik Duesund 
Bryce Heber
Utku Karhan 
Bende Pardi
Bence Szabo 
Laszlo Szieben 
Kai Young 

Excellent 3.40-3.20
Nikki Matheisen 
Nikola Nikolic