ACWPCHonorsMWP23Outstandding (1)ACWPCHonorsMWP23Outstandding (1)

15 Spartans Earn ACWPC All-Academic Honors

SAN JOSE, Calif. - Fifteen San Josè State men's water polo players from the 2023 season were honored as national All-Academic award winners by the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC). To qualify, student-athletes need a 3.2 or higher on a 4.00 scale. 

Since the program was reinstated beginning with the 2015 season, 48 Spartans have earned 83 ACWPC All-Academic honors.

Connor Macmillan and Mark Kis received their third ACWPC All-Academic award. Itay Nemet, Erik Duesund, Bence Szabo, Laszlo Szieben, Nikki Matheisen, and Nikola Nikolic received their second ACWPC honors. Nathan Correia, Giancarlo MarquezBrendan Gyapjas, Mael Suchet, Manteja Bosic, Mitchell Keightley, and Alexy Poletaev round out the San Jose State list of award recipients.

Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches 2023 Men's All-Academic Awards

Outstanding 4.0-3.71
Alexey Poletaev 
Bence Szabo 
Connor Macmillan 
Mark Kis
Manteja Bosic
Mitchell Keightley 

Superior 3.70-3.41
Brendan Gyapjas
Giancarlo Marquez
Itay Nemet 
Laszlo Szieben 
Mael Suchet 
Nikola Nikolic

Excellent 3.40-3.20
Erik Duesund
Nathan Correia 
Nikki Mathieson