Arwefjall, Dormann, & Three Other Women's Golfers Receive MW Honors

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.—For the second consecutive year, San José State women’s golfer Kajsa Arwefjäll has been selected as the Mountain West Women’s Golfer of the Year for the 2023-24 season. Spartan head coach Dana Dormann has been named the MW Coach of the Year for the third time in her career, while three other Spartans received All-MW honors.

In the 25 years of the conference, Arwefjäll is just the sixth player to receive multiple MW Women’s Golfer of the Year honors and the second Spartan to be named twice. For five of the past six seasons, a San José State player has received Player of the Year honors.

My Leander – 2017

Abegail Arevalo – 2019

Natasha Andrea Oon – 2020, 2022

Kajsa Arwefjäll – 2023, 2024

Two Spartans received first team All-MW honors – Arwefjäll and Lucia Lopez Ortega. Darae Chung and Rebecca Gyllner received their first All-MW honors as they were named to the second team.

Kajsa Arwefjäll – First Team All-MW, 5th Year, Hollviken, Sweden

  • Mountain West Individual Champion at 9-under 207
  • Won the Chevron Silverado Showdown at 7-under 209
  • 70.70 stroke average
  • 17 rounds of par or better including 8 rounds in the 60s
  • Finished in the top-10 in seven tournaments
  • Currently ranked 34th on the WAGR
  • Fifth all-conference honor and fourth consecutive first team All-MW recognition


Lucia Lopez Ortega – First Team All-MW, Junior, Sa Coma, Mallorca, Spain

  • 72.19 stroke average with 13 rounds of par or better
  • Seven rounds in the 60s
  • Third at the Mountain West Championship at 5-under 211
  • Four top-10 finishes
  • Tied for second at The Molly Collegiate Invitational at 9-under 207
  • Currently ranked 71st on the WAGR
  • Third consecutive first team All-MW selection


Darae Chung – Second Team All-MW, Redshirt-Freshman, Wellington, New Zealand

  • Has a 73.39 stroke average
  • Finished tied for ninth at the Illini Women’s Invitational
  • 10 rounds of par or better and three rounds in the 60s
  • Finished 17th at the MW Championship, shooting. 1-under 71 in the final round


Rebecca Gyllner – Second Team All-MW, Sophomore, Gälve, Sweden

  • Played in all 26 rounds this season
  • Has a 74.27 stroke average
  • Shot a season-low 67 twice
  • Recorded 10 rounds or par or better
  • Tied for ninth at the Illini Women’s Invitational and at the MW Championship


Dana Dormann – MW Coach of the Year

  • Third Coach of the Year honor – 2019, 2022, 2024
  • Helped the Spartans win the 2024 MW Championship by 18 strokes
  • Spartans are currently ranked 25th nationally
  • SJSU finished in the top-four in six of the nine tournaments played this season

San José State begins play at the NCAA Cle Elum Regional, May 6-8, at the Tumble Creek Club. The fifth-seeded Spartans begin play at 9 a.m. with Virginia and Washington.


2023-24 Mountain West Women’s Golf Award Winners

First Team

Andrea Bergsdottir, Gr., Colorado State

Lauren Lehigh, Gr., New Mexico

Kajsa Arwefjäll, 5th yr., San José State

Lucia Lopez Ortega, Jr., San José State

Toa Yokoyama Jr., UNLV

Second Team

Kara Kaneshiro, Fr., Colorado State

Leah John, Sr., Nevada

Myah McDonald, Sr., New Mexico

Darae Chung, R-Fr., San José State

Rebecca Gyllner, So., San José State

Thienna Huynh, So., UNLV

Player of the Year: Kajsa Arwefjäll, San José State

Freshman of the Year: Kara Kaneshiro, Colorado State

Coach of the Year: Dana Dormann, San José State