Student-Athletes Excel In Classroom, Record Number of President's & Dean's Scholars

San Jose, Calif.—Another banner year for the athletics department in the classroom has a department record 106 student-athletes and cheer squad members recognized as either a San José State University President's Scholar or Dean's Scholar.
The 58th annual Honors Convocation recognizing the academic excellence of the student body was postponed due to the coronavirus. The ceremony, which was to take place on May 1, would honor the 1,582 President's Scholars.
To earn a President's Scholar designation, a student must earn a 4.00 grade-point average in one of the two semesters (Fall 2019 & Spring 2019) before the Honors Convocation. A Dean's Scholar (5,783 honorees in 2020) is a San José State student with a 3.65 or higher grade-point average in a semester during the same academic calendar.
A record number 25 student-athletes from 13 sports are designated as a President's Scholar. It is the second-consecutive year that the department saw an increase in the number of honorees.
"We are extremely proud of the San José State University student-athletes named a President's Scholar or Dean's Scholar. While this year's university Honors Convocation is postponed, we still celebrate the academic accomplishments of these high-achieving student-athletes. And, we thank our student-athlete success services team and San Jose State University faculty members for providing a positive learning experience leading to a bachelor's degree," said Eileen Daley, senior associate athletics director for academics and student services.
Eight Spartans are President's Scholars for the second time – Kai Bohannon, cross country/track & field; Gabby Heng, swimming & diving; Andrew Jenkins, football; Shelby Mullendore, swimming & diving; Stephanie Relova, gymnastics, Natasha Sondeno, swimming & diving; Anna Thomasdotter, women's basketball; and Mathilda Vidgren, women's tennis.
"Under the direction of our coaches and our academic staff, we are thrilled to report a record number of student-athletes earning President's Scholar and Dean's Scholar academic honors.  Academic achievement is one of our steadfast core values, and for the second year in a row, we have many and an exceptional group of young men and women embracing the value.  Congratulations to these student-athletes. They are terrific representatives of San José State University and Spartan Athletics," said Director of Athletics Marie Tuite.
All 22 sports are represented among the 106 honorees, led by women's swimming and diving and men's water polo with 13 student-athletes each. Swimming and diving had six President's Scholars, while men's water polo and gymnastics each had three President's Scholars.
President's Scholars (25)

Kristen Amarikwa Women's Soccer Public Health
Abegail Arevalo Women's Golf Psychology
Kristen Arias Softball Art - Digital Media
Adam Bado Men's Water Polo Biomedical Engineering
Caitlin Bettenay Volleyball/Beach Volleyball Kinesiology
Kai Bohannon Women's Cross Country/Track & Field Business Administration
Ashley Castle Men's Water Polo Kinesiology
Daria Cocol Swimming & Diving Business Finance
Grace Garvey Softball Kinesiology
Gabby Heng Swimming & Diving Anthropology
Andrew Jenkins Football Political Science
Jada Mazury Gymnastics Business Entrepreneurship
Katie McIntee Swimming & Diving Psychology
Willy Miranda Men's Soccer Spanish
Shelby Mullendore Swimming & Diving Economics
Jacqueline Nisson Swimming & Diving Environmental Studies
Sierra Painter Women's Water Polo Communication Studies
Stephanie Relova Gymnastics Business Management
Natasha Sondeno Swimming & Diving Kinesiology
Anna Thomasdotter Women's Basketball Marine Biology
Mathilda Vidgren Women's Tennis Business Marketing
Fernanda Vido Volleyball Business Marketing
Clarissa Wandinger Women's Water Polo Biological Science
Kendal Watts Women's Gymnastics Communication Studies
Marc Weber Men's Water Polo Kinesiology


Gallery: (4-30-2020) 2019-20 President's Scholars

Dean's List Honorees (81)

Riley Agerbeek Women's Water Polo Justice Studies
Megan Anderson Women's Basketball Public Health
Madison Aurin Softball Public Health
Akos Balazs Men's Water Polo International Business
Idreece Barnes Men's Track & Field Electrical Engineering
Dalton Bowling Baseball Undeclared
Eduardo Buenfil Men's Soccer Public Health
Sydney Bentley Women's Track & Field Psychology
Georgia Blair Softball Journalism
Samantha Bruce Women's Golf Business Accounting
Kara Burns Women's Soccer Kinesiology
Ana Calero Women's Soccer Political Science
Cassidy Clark Softball Public Health
Jack Colette Baseball Communication Studies
Tamara Culibrk Women's Tennis Civil Engineering
Isaiah De Dios Men's Soccer Communication Studies
Brad Dennis Men's Water Polo Economics
Olga Descalzi Portell Women's Water Polo Materials Engineering
Jalend Dinwiddie Football Computer Science
Jamie Dodd Swimming & Diving Hospitality, Tourism & Event Management
Nikki Duggan Gymnastics Business Administration
Jeff Dukes Men's Soccer Business Management
Makayla Englestad Softball Business Marketing
Yahav Fire Men's Water Polo Economics
Chris Gerlach Men's Track & Field Mathematics
Kimberlee Giggey Swimming & Diving Psychology
Kacie Gresenz Softball Kinesiology
Silvia Gutierrez Women's Track & Field Psychology
Hannah Hall Women's Soccer Business Marketing
Cole Haft Cheerleading Radio/TV/Film
Peter Handy Men's Track & Field Engineering
Kate Hanf Swimming & Diving Psychology
Natasha Harris Women's Soccer Psychology
Matt Heitel Men's Golf Business Administration
Harrison Hoffman Football Business Accounting
Niels Hofmeijer Men's Water Polo Materials Engineering
Brae Ivey Men's Basketball Communication Studies
Carlie James Women's Soccer Art Design
Utku Karhan Men's Water Polo Aerospace Engineering
Kiley Lingenfelter Beach Volleyball Communication Studies
Josh Love Football Business Management Information Systems
Antonia Malate Women's Golf Communication Studies
Mariana Mantellato Volleyball International Business
Jered Mariani Men's Soccer Business Finance
Lea Marion Swimming & Diving Aerospace Engineering
Caitlin McManus Women's Soccer Child & Adolescent Development
Madyson Montoya Cheerleading Journalism
Matilda Moore Women's Water Polo Systems Physiology
Omari Moore Men's Basketball Kinesiology
Todd Palmer Men's Water Polo Aviation
Finn Pardon Men's Water Polo Business Administration
Kiara Parker Women's Soccer Psychology
Laura Parts Volleyball/Beach Volleyball Art Design
Alba Pedrero Galindo Women's Tennis Business Management
Rebecca Petoe Swimming & Diving Biochemistry
Jacey Phipps Softball Liberal Studies
Justin Pickering Men's Water Polo Communication Studies
Charlie Pope Men's Cross Country/Track & Field History
Matthew Porter Men's Track & Field Kinesiology
Karlee Pottorff Women's Soccer Kinesiology
Madilyn Probst Women's Gymnastics Business Administration
Bryan Quintero Men's Track & Field Biological Science
Darrian Reed Women's Soccer Business Administration
Trevor Robbins Football Communication Studies
Travis Sanders Baseball Political Science
Savannah Sendar Women's Tennis Business Finance
Sylvia Sloss Women's Soccer Business Management
Sarah Smevog Volleyball/Beach Volleyball Environmental Studies
Sophie Spivack Women's Water Polo Art Design
Vijay Srinivasan Men's Golf Business Finance
Tyanna Supreme Women's Water Polo Forensic Science
Cristian Tanase Men's Water Polo Kinesiology
Ally Thom Women's Soccer Kinesiology
Madison Toomer Women's Soccer Kinesiology
Nik Trapani Baseball Business Marketing
Emerson Trout Men's Water Polo Business Finance
Lili Urvari Women's Water Polo Communication Studies
Gabriela Vieira Swimming & Diving Art Design
Cannon Yates Men's Track & Field Biomedical Engineering
Andy Wang Men's Track & Field Computer Science
Angelika Yngson Swimming & Diving Recreation